All The Pink is Mine

shoe-gallery-x-reebok-classic-leather-flamingos-at-war-00

Over the past few years I’ve been breaking the social conditioning that occurred when I was a child (not by my parents, but by other adults and other children): “You are a boy, you do not like pink”.  I love pink.  I really, really fucking love pink.  I like several shades of pink, but mostly I like the pink shade that’s on those trainers above and the dayglo pink that is magenta.

There were actually periods in the 80s that were kind to these loves.  In ’87 it was fashionable for boys to wear grey & pink clothing – the senior year in my school could chose their uniform colours and that year they went for this combination, of light grey and a light, baby pink.  Then, by ’89, it was fashionable to wear dayglo colours (aceeeeeed!), which ended up seeing me regularly wearing dayglo pink toweling socks (that material, what were we thinking?).

Sadly pink was lost to boys as the arrival of grunge consigned bright colours to children’s wear and pink to the girls’ section.  And, from that point on the decision to purchase something with pink in it, no matter what item or how much pink, returned to having the stigma that pink was for girls.  All of this became deeply ironic when I learned that pink had traditionally been a colour for boys (thanks QI!).

But then pink came back, as fashion for men has expanded again, so I started expanding the pink in my life, from my basic t-shirts to my nerdy toys (seriously, magenta pink colourways are the best!).  In fact, those trainers up top, which combine my love of pink with my love of camo (and inspired this post), are due for release on Nov 30th and they will be mine.  Happy days.

And, hell, I like pink that much my Xbox 360 controller is pink:

scufpinky

One thought on “All The Pink is Mine”

  1. I know. It’s a shameless cross promotion, but if you truly do love pink, you really should check out my blog, in particular my Shoesmaketheman shoes, that are available in… you guessed it… Pink! And what a pink! Hurry though, they’re running out!

Leave a Reply

