The Cape

Recently I’ve developed a slight obsession with capes, to the point that I’m hoping to make myself one at some point in the not too distant future. I’m not sure what started it as generally I’m a fan of more functional fashion. I think it’s the idea of cocooning myself which appeals to me more than anything.

Although there are plenty of beautiful capes out there from throughout history and fashion regularly tries to make them a ‘thing’, without it really filtering down to high street fashion a huge amount, it’s the more utilitarian and functional looking cape which you get in menswear which appeals to me most of all. As much fun as it would be to waft around in something like this:

1920s cape
1920s cape

I want to avoid little red riding hood or Lord of the Rings vibes as much as possible. Not to mention it wouldn’t be entirely practical. I know that fashion isn’t always meant to be practical but I don’t want to end up making something I’d never actually wear. Instead I’m hoping to make something more like these from Valentino and Salvatore Farragamo:

Valentino cape
Valentino cape
Salvatore Ferragamo cape
Salvatore Ferragamo cape

Preferably my own will be a bit more colourful than that, will probably involve some kind of tweed suiting fabric, with probably a nice bright lining and a hood, but you get the idea. Whether I’ll actually end up with anything wearable due to my relative lack of constructive sewing skills is another matter but I can dream for now. Until then I will continue gazing at pictures like the ones above longingly and dream of a day when I can swish around dramatically looking something like these guys:

Arena Homme Plus
Arena Homme Plus

Well maybe a bit less dramatic than that…

Back in modern women’s fashion the cape is a completely different beast, mainly involving random details and arm holes which completely miss the point of a cape in my eyes. This weird one from Burberyy particularly caught my eye. If it was a jacket I’d probably like it but as it is it feels wrong on some fundamental level.

Burberry cape
Burberry cape

I did think that it might look better actually on a person but apparently not.

Burberry cape
Burberry cape

Of course it’s all a matter of taste but I’ll stick to the gothic Ringwraith look earlier on in this post thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

