Season of the witch

While I am not a fan of horror in general, I have been somewhat taken by the American Horror Story: Coven teasers.

I’ve always been a fan of plain lines in clothing and the teasers are showcasing how to do this style very neatly indeed. It’s reminiscent of the Sabina Bryntesson SS12/13 collection, clean silhouettes, crisp collars and fabulous witchy hats.

© Olin Brannigan
© Olin Brannigan
© Vauxhall Fashion Scout
© Vauxhall Fashion Scout
© Olin Brannigan
© Olin Brannigan
© Olin Brannigan
© Olin Brannigan

Sadly I’ve never been able to find the collection (or those hats) for sale, but take heart, her linkedin page shows that she’s currently working as a design assistant at H&M on everyday, basic jersey and knitwear. I haven’t seen anything this season which approaches the level of austerity in her SS12/13, it’s deceptively hard to do well and not hugely commercial I suspect; even my usual monochrome standbys Garth Pugh, Rick Owens and Yohji Yamamoto have let me down.

Nicolas Andreas Taralis is the closest I can find, with a collection showcasing A-line skirts, high waisted trousers and collared shirts. I find the wide sleeves look a little busy myself, and the fishnet pushes it further towards The Craft that I’d like, so although it’s a credible effort I shall be keeping my eye on the H&M knitwear section just in case.

One thought on “Season of the witch”

Leave a Reply

